Of Mice and Bears?

Once upon a time, I lived for three months in Washington, DC as an intern for FRC. Thomas spent half of that time in Europe, and the other half in PA (his homestate) and NY (his parents’ homestate). Those three months was the starting point for this blog. I had finished my junior year of college, and had been dating this amazing, brilliant young man… but, we weren’t sure we were going to get married. So, we decided to take the summer, since we were going to be so far apart anyways, to step back and think through what we wanted with our lives.

Within days of moving out to DC, my two roommates asked me, “So, when are you going to marry Thomas?”

I was a bit floored, actually. I mean, we were taking some time away. Very MUCH away. He had left for Turkey three weeks earlier, and I hadn’t heard from him at all, and I knew I wouldn’t hear from him for another couple weeks. That’s not to say I didn’t want to marry him. I was pretty sure I did very much WANT to marry him. But I wasn’t sure we were right for each other. I mean, marriage is a huge decision. What if I was wrong?

“Well, we aren’t really sure we are going to get married, actually…”

“But he’s the one person that appears in almost every conversation you are part of. You obviously really enjoy each other’s company, you value his opinion, and you have a ton in common. What will you do if you don’t marry him?”

Well, that settled that. The next time I saw him, on July 4th weekend when he came down to visit me, I asked him, while sitting on the West Lawn of the Capital Building listening to the orchestra warm up for their Independence Day concert…

“So, are we getting married or aren’t we?”

His answer?

“Yep, I think so. Are you ok with that?”

“Yep!”

And, we moved on with our weekend.

So, about the title of this post. Soon after having this conversation, I went up to PA to visit him and his family for a long weekend. I titled my post about that weekend away, “A Town Mouse and a Country Mouse”. Thomas was raised in the country, and I was raised in suburbia, so the title was pretty appropriate.

Well, almost 6 years later, and that Country Mouse is now my Papa Bear. He is currently in Dallas, learning Greek. We will probably continue to talk every evening, as he tells me all about this gorgeous language that I have loved since high school, and that he is loving already (and FINALLY!). I know it isn’t Father’s Day yet, but after a few nights of him being gone, and knowing that we will see each other in shifts throughout the summer, really got me thinking. Especially after seeing the little Bears’ reaction to hearing his voice over the phone, or seeing his face on the computer as we facetime. I came so close to not having the past 6 years. I’m so glad God had a different plan.

So, to all my military friends, traveling spouse friends, missionary friends, etc., I don’t know how you do it. My hat’s off to you.

As for me, I’m looking forward to the day when Grad School in the summer is done and our Papa Bear comes home.

Soli Deo Gloria

 

5 thoughts on “Of Mice and Bears?

  1. I love you guys. And think of you often…and am glad for your updates. Every once in a while I remember my first year in AZ and think: Wow, it would have been so much worse without the Roes! So thank you πŸ™‚ And hang in there!

  2. Hang in there! I am so glad God brought you two together too. Our lives certainly would have been very different without you. I am bracing myself for 9 days of Mark’s absence… pray for me…

Leave a Reply

