Comings and Goings

I am currently sitting in my pajamas, waiting for both Bears to decide that they really do wish to wake up. Behold (in the meantime, however that “meantime” occurs today), my list.

  • Thomas begins his last summer of graduate school at University of Dallas this weekend. We will drive up this Saturday, stay with my grandmother, get Thomas settled on Sunday and say our goodbye’s. Then, on Monday, I will drive back with my Bears, and we will be on our own until sometime next week.
  • Then, my mom will be flying in to town, to save the day/week! Until she arrives, a wonderful young lady from school is coming over next week to help out in the mornings, so I have time to run errands, finish Student Evaluations, go for a run, etc.
  • Dear friends from Phoenix are driving through San Antonio this evening, and we will be enjoying dinner together. Right now, we are thinking, “Pizza!”. But we will see if that changes.
  • Thomas took the car today, so he can get it inspected before he leaves. So, no car for us today. But, storms are rolling through all day, so we will spend our morning outside, and our afternoons indoors.
  • Baby Bear has found out the joy of imitating Mamma Bear on everything. He wants to open and close doors for me all day long, and insists on putting his forks and spoons in the dishwasher. Transferring laundry from the washer to the dryer fascinates him, and picking up toys is the second best-game in the world, second only to dumping them out.
  • Fuzzy Bear is trying desperately to crawl. Currently, army-crawling is his preferred and most effective mode of self-mobility, but he does the rocking-back-and-forth-on-the-knees thing with far greater regularity than I expected 2 months ago. By the way, he figured out the rolling over portion of life barely 4 weeks ago. Geesh, kid! Slow down, already!
  • I will be going back to school as a teacher next year, and I’m really looking forward to it. So, come August, you will find me somewhere in the Middle School, probably teaching History, or Literature, or Grammar, depending on where all the pieces fall for hiring. I’m kind of hoping for History, and I’ve been using this as my excuse to read lots of Ancient, Medieval, and Modern history books, and some old primary texts from college. It’s times like this that I am so thankful for my education at Hillsdale, if only because of the amazing texts that I got to keep from my classes.
  • Tomorrow is the last day of school, with locker-cleanup and award ceremony, and I plan on taking the Bears over to say last goodbyes for the summer.
  • We are thinking of getting a tablet or iPad of some sort to use as a scanner of sorts. It might also have to be the replacement for my laptop (trusty macbook pro, purchased in August 2011, whose hard drive and start-up disk are full, no matter how many files, photos, or documents I delete), so we are currently researching for how best to replace a laptop.

 

And, then, I guess the biggest “coming” still has yet to be announced.

It is possible that we will be getting a third Bear at the end of June, or beginning of July. I can’t put a lot of information here, except that it’s a little girl, born at the end of April, and related to Baby Bear. We have no idea if this placement will help us towards adoption. But this is our prayer, every meal and every evening:

“Lord, thank you for all that you have given us, especially for the death of your Son. Please help Papa Bear and Mama Bear in the weeks to come, to work hard and show your love to everyone around us. Please keep [newest Bear] safe, and bring her to her forever home soon. Thank you for keeping Baby Bear and Fuzzy Bear healthy and safe with us. Please help them to come to know you from an early age. Thank you for everything you do for us. Amen.”

God has been incredibly good to us, both in the hard and easy phases of the last few months. We continue to pray for peace with the Bears’ cases, and for strength, patience, and courage as we head into one more summer in two separate cities.

Soli Deo Gloria

One thought on “Comings and Goings

  1. Love this post, Brooke! Continuing to pray for the adoption and will add the new baby to my prayers. Continued blessings, Karen

Leave a Reply

