Abide With Me…

This hymn is our lullaby. We didn’t really plan on it. It happened by accident. My sister-in-law made a beautiful hand-inked copy of this beloved hymn, and framed it for us for our first Christmas after we were married. It now hangs in the baby’s bedroom, and I hum or sing the words whenever I am trying to soothe the little one. He’s teething something nasty right now, so the song can be heard quite often in our little home.

Abide with me, fast falls the eventide. The darkness deepens, Lord with me abide! When other helpers fail and comforts flee, help of the helpless, O, abide with me.

The Enemy seems to be  prowling quite loudly lately, both in the world and in our home. We are busy. So busy. Between two teaching parents, one small business owning wife, and a foster child (who is crawling! teething! growing! and who knows what else!), we find ourselves praying together a lot more, simply because it is the one activity that we can know for sure is more important than any other… So if other tasks are demanding our attention, we can always say, “That will have to wait”. And our prayer seems to be echoing this plea. Lord, dwell with us. Live here among us.

I need Thy presence every passing hour. What but Thy grace can foil the tempter’s power? Who like Thyself my guide and stay can be? Through cloud and sunshine, Oh, abide with me. 

When I am busy, I feel angry, stressed, and misunderstood by the very people who know me best. After taking a weekend away from school, yesterday’s class seemed more difficult than usual. As Thomas said when I recounted my 35 min class… “Wow… everything that could go wrong… went wrong!” Some of it was poor planning on my part. Some of it was outside of my control. I’m glad that God has given me a husband that stands by my side though it all.

I fear no foe with Thee at hand to bless. Ills have no weight and tears no bitterness. Where is Death’s sting? Where, Grave, thy victory? I triumph still if Thou abide with me. 

This past weekend, we traveled to Dallas to mourn the death of my grandfather. I watched as 1 wife, 6 children, 14 grandchildren, 17 great-grandchildren, and all of the respective spouses mourned the death and celebrated the life of a man who grew up an only child and wanted to someday have a large family. Death terrifies me. But seeing this whole (loud) clan together, all laughing, crying, all together… I see now what the hymn means about weightless ills and sweet tears.

Hold Thou Thy cross before my closing eyes. Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies. Heaven’s morning breaks and earth’s vain shadows flee. Tide life, tide death, O Lord, abide with me. 

There has been a tragic death at our school. I know very little about the situation, but the school has been drastically effected. I pray that this family will see Christ through this situation, and I pray that God will truly abide with all of us.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Abide With Me…

Leave a Reply

