Bullet Journaling: Step 3 in Minimalism

Step 1: GET RID OF STUFF!

Step 2: Wear clothes that are versatile, affordable, and comfortable

Step 3: Get all the events, thoughts, plans, tasks, goals, brain-storms in ONE Place

It’s taken me a while, but I have found Bullet Journaling, and I think it might just be the next best thing from sliced bread. I’m still working on finding my particular style, but here is what I have done so far.

  1. Two-Page Spread for the month of September, with a column for mileage. We get tax write-offs for all miles and costs for fostering, grad-schooling, and small-businessing. I hate trying to track down my miles, as it means ANOTHER piece of paper to track. So, I figure this might help.
  2. On the next two page spread, I have the goals, tasks, events, and notes for that coming month. So, my Premier Shows, training, foster events, school events, etc. And, I will put October and November’s events on this page as well, to keep them in my mind whenever I check through my monthly to-do.
  3. Two-Page Spread for each week. I debated writing in every single week of September, so they are all in the same place, but I decided to try the true BuJo method first. Sunday-Saturday across the top half of the two page spread, with some empty space on the far right page for the date and some decor. The individual days are broken into three parts: morning, noon, and evening. This helps me keep track of what exactly happens when, and it helps the day feel calmer. The bottom half of the spread is for Tasks, Premier, Lessons, Groceries, and Notes. I might drop one of those categories eventually, but it’s fun to experiment.
  4. Daily Plans with as many pages as it needs. Basically, I take the events from the Monthly and Weekly Spreads and put them into that day’s entry. Then I start putting down any tasks that are needed that day for THOSE events. Then, I put down any remaining tasks that still need to be done. I also do a time bar. That’s where you draw a long bar across the top of the entry, and put the hours of the day inside it. Then you color code the day, so that you are already looking at your time commitments, free time, sleep, meals, etc.
  5. I always include a space for that day’s lesson plans. Usually, the notes are small and short, but I’m hoping it will be good to have it all in one space.
  6. Draw, doodle, anything to make it feel like my own personal space. I have been doodling something for the weather, and trying out some fun stuff with the dates and such.

I’m still working on a key. I need symbols for tasks, events, and thoughts, separated into foster-ing, mom-ing, business, school, and family.

I’m thinking about purchasing a slightly bigger journal, with dots instead of graph paper, as I like the look of clean pages.

I would love any feedback from anyone if they have any experience in BuJo. Anything from layouts, doodles, handwriting, and making everything clear and easy for all the different categories.

Thanks!

One thought on “Bullet Journaling: Step 3 in Minimalism

Leave a Reply

