Life as an (Almost) Stay-at-Home Gal…

One week ago I told my students that I was not going to be their teacher anymore. Cue the tears, and the questions, the outrage, the congratulations, and the earnest desire that I promise I won’t leave forever. I made my promises, and this Friday, I hand over the reigns to a lovely woman.

In case some parents ever read this…

You told me that your children cried Wednesday night. So did I. A lot.

The truth is, I love teaching. I truly enjoy the challenges that come with trying to explain canceling fractions, latin vocabulary, and literary themes with ten-year-olds. I like figuring out the best seating arrangements, how to address student questions, and comforting students with they are anxious, scared, sad, or angry. I have lived on those light-bulb moments when a student’s face shows for the world to see that they truly, and finally, understand what was moments ago incomprehensible.

Right now, we are waiting (im)patiently for a foster placement. We have successfully finished all of the paperwork, and are even lined up to provide some respite care later this month. But we are praying that God provides us with a little foster child to love, nurture, and (hopefully) adopt.

I can think of no better reason to give up teaching than to be a mother. In fact, I don’t think I could stop teaching, except to be a mother.

We appreciate your prayers as we wait for a little person, and as I adjust to just… being… at home…

What am I going to do all day?

  • Read. Books. Lots of them.
  • Crochet. I have a long list of friends who are expecting, and those blankets are not going to make themselves.
  • Walk. We have so many beautiful neighborhoods in our area, and I want to go explore them.
  • Draw. I have some adult coloring books that are begging for some color, and I have been wanting to tackle a bigger drawing project for a while now.
  • Write. I want to blog more. I want to draft a few children’s books that have been tossing about in my head for a few years now. I want to design curricula for Grammar, Writing, Latin, Reading, Poetry, etc. I want to write letters to my grandmothers and grandfather, to my cousins, aunts, and uncles. I want to get back to corresponding with professors from college, and with my classmates.
  • Cook. My poor kitchen aid mixer has been gathering dust for far too long. I want to learn to make more varied meals without breaking our budget, and to eat healthier without longing for those days when donuts were waiting in the Teacher’s Lounge.
  • Visit. My church and school communities have so many wonderful families, and I want to spend time getting to know them.
  • Pray. It’s time for my faith to come off the back-burner and onto the foreground, now that I am completely managing my own time.

So, again, prayers appreciated. I have never had this sort of unstructured time at my disposal, and time-management is one my developing skills.

One thought on “Life as an (Almost) Stay-at-Home Gal…

Leave a Reply

