Book Review: Miss Rumphius, by Barbara Cooney

Well, summer officially ends this evening, and the school year heads into full swing. Thomas and I have been in training for the past two weeks, making lesson plans, setting up our classrooms, and consulting with other faculty. Thomas is teaching Latin and Grammar for Middle School and High School, and I am a lead and Latin teacher for fifth grade.  I have been thinking a lot about displaying truth, goodness, beauty, and most importantly, God’s love to my students on a regular basis, without cheapening it for my students. Teaching in a school that believes in absolute truth, unquenchable beauty, and worthwhile truth can be terrifying. Especially when I am not able to speak openly of my faith.

That is why I love the book, Miss Rumphius, by Barbara Cooney. The primary quote that drives the characters is simple and sweet.

“You must do something to make the world more beautiful.”

So Alice Rumphius grows up, travels the world, and finally settled in a small house by the sea. She has done all that she has ever dreamed, but there is one task left. But how to make the world more beautiful? Alice’s answer feels similar to my own. People may call me crazy for loving and teaching children (especially Latin?!?!), but I hope that I too am making the world more beautiful, even if it is only for a few children for a few months each year.

Enjoy the pictures!

P. S. These pictures also remind me so much of Maine. And in the San Antonio heat, who doesn’t dream about Maine?

P. S. Also, adoption news is forthcoming. Don’t worry, we haven’t forgotten it.

image

image

image

image

Title: Miss Rumphius
Author: Barbara Cooney
Illustrator: Barbara Cooney
Recommended Readers: 10-12 years old

One thought on “Book Review: Miss Rumphius, by Barbara Cooney

  1. Hurray! You are back. I love Barbara Cooney’s illustrations, and I really like this particular book. You are still in my prayers: I will pray for you as you try to make the world more beautiful and show the love of Christ.

Leave a Reply

