Books to know what I’m thinking about…

This post is not so much a review of books so much as a review of the year through books.

1. The Sea Chest, by Toni Buzzeo, illustrated by Mary GrandPre’.
A book about adoption. Oh, adoption. I want a family so badly, but God seems to be slowing things down. Not sure why, so we are praying for patience and wisdom.

image

2. The Mightiest Heart, by Lynn Cullen, illustrated by Laurel Long
I love my dog. So much. He snuggles with me, plays with me, walks with me, naps with me, and follows me everywhere. Even Thomas says that he has been a wonderful addition to our little family.

image

3. Animalia, by Graeme Base
Every time I see this book for sale, I grab it, because it makes such a great gift. And since everyone around us is having children, we have been giving away a lot of children’s books and crocheted baby blankets. I have been praying about and working on attending baby showers for dear friends. I know I should go, but my heart aches with every shower or baby announcement. Luckily, God is giving me grace, and I always seem to stumble upon this treasure right when I need a good gift.

image

4. Counterfeit Gods: The Empty Promises of Money, Sex, and Power, and the Only Hope That Matters, by Timothy Keller
This has been a convicting read (again), and a comforting one as well. Thomas and I have been talking a lot about what idols look like for us, and what effects this knowledge should have on our daily lives.

image

5. The Harry Potter series, by J. K. Rowling, illustrated by Mary GrandPre’
We have been listening to this series in the car all year. We are currently in the beginning of Book 6. We have decided that we love the world Rowling has created, but the jury is still out on if Hogwarts is a good school.

image

6. Teach Like A Champion: 49 Techniques that Put Students on the Path to College, by Doug Lemov
My uncle gave us this book, and it has been amazing. All you teacher-peeps out there, get this book and read it!

image

7. Bonhoeffer: Pastor, Martyr, Prophet and Spy, by Eric Metaxas
I’ve been wanting to read this one for a few years now, and I finally borrowed a copy from our church. I’m moving slowly through it right now. I’m hoping to move a little faster once the summer starts up.

image

8. The History of the Ancient/Medieval/Renaissance World, all by Susan Wise Bauer
Another set of books that I have wanted to read for a long time. Hopefully, these will be further summer conquest.

image

9. The Soldier of the Great War, by Mark Helprin
We will be listening to this book on tape over the summer. Does that count as reading?

image

10. The Bible
Lastly, and most importantly, I am working on copying the psalms into a journal with thoughts, prayers, and reflections. I have never been very consistent about reading my Bible as an adult, and I’m hoping this will be a good first step.

image

What books show what you are thinking about? Any summer reading lists?

4 thoughts on “Books to know what I’m thinking about…

  1. I am especially curious about your experiences reading Wise-Bauer. I’ve tried to teach that book as the assigned textbook for 9th grade history and it was a trainwreck! I imagine, though, that it reads better than it teaches.

  2. Tim Keller!! So good, always.

    I wouldn’t want to attend Hogwarts but I enjoyed the dickens out of that series.

    And… I skipped a few baby showers during my waiting years.

  3. Teach Like A Champion is great! I used several of the techniques with great success. Which ones do you find helpful?

    (And I’m so sorry that baby showers are difficult-I have been there!

    1. I have loved the section about control, management, inspiration, etc. It’s so easy to fall into the wrong area, and having it all described really helped to let me to think about my own classroom management.

Leave a Reply

